

Loma Linda University TheScholarsRepository@LLU: Digital Archive of Research, Scholarship & Creative Works

Commencement Programs

Loma Linda University Publications

6-11-1978

Commencement Program 1978 (School of Nursing)

Loma Linda University

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarsrepository.llu.edu/commencement-programs

Part of the Other Nursing Commons

Recommended Citation

Loma Linda University, "Commencement Program 1978 (School of Nursing)" (1978). *Commencement Programs.*

https://scholarsrepository.llu.edu/commencement-programs/161

This Book is brought to you for free and open access by the Loma Linda University Publications at TheScholarsRepository@LLU: Digital Archive of Research, Scholarship & Creative Works. It has been accepted for inclusion in Commencement Programs by an authorized administrator of TheScholarsRepository@LLU: Digital Archive of Research, Scholarship & Creative Works. For more information, please contact scholarsrepository@llu.edu.

Awarding of Diplomas

R.M.

S.

n

LOMA LINDA UNIVERSITY / SCHOOL OF NURSING

ACCOCIATE IN SCIENCE CLASS

Mar

R-NL

The.

BACHELOR OF SCIENCE CLASS

SUNDAY MORNING, JUNE 11, 1978 / TEN THIRTY O'CLOCK COLLEGE CHURCH, LA SIERRA CAMPUS

205

20000

205

205

The Program

PROCESSION DONALD J. VAUGHN, organ Assistant Professor of Music Rigaudon . . . Campra

INVOCATION ELIZABETH V. STEPP, Instructor in Nursing Sophomore year coordinator, Associate in Science program

MUSICAL SELECTION

RAMON R. GONZALEZ and VALRIE I. RUDGE The Lord Is My Shepherd . . . Smart

PRESENTATION OF AWARDS DEAN'S AWARD ALLAN FINEMAN MEMORIAL AWARD

PRESENTATION OF DIPLOMAS UNDERGRADUATE DIVISION

BENEDICTION

MARILYN J. CHRISTIAN, Dean of the School To the outstanding student in each program To the outstanding student exemplifying the essence of nursing through skillful, loving care

THE DEAN VALRIE I. RUDGE, Associate Dean RONALD J. DAVIS, Assistant Dean

COLLEEN J. HEWES, Assistant Professor of Nursing Senior year adviser, Bachelor of Science program

RECESSION

Grand Choer . . . Gigout

The audience is asked to remain seated until the graduates have exited

Because the School provides a color picture of the graduate at the time of diploma presentation, guests are asked to reserve picture-taking until after the program.

The Classes

1978 ASSOCIATE IN SCIENCE

president Sandra Lynn Boyd social activities director Deborah Helene Elston chaplain Cynthia Lanette Palmer treasurer Wendy Joyce Bergman secretary Marie Annette Hand graduation committee chairman Carolyn Joan Gordon Rudd faculty advisers Marilynn Cathcart, Elizabeth V. Stepp Kathleen Lucille Akin **Donna Maurine Anthes** Vilma Gloria Apostol Ann Delight Hutchinson Barker Brenda Kay Behner Hayat Daher Bejjani Eulalia Abreu Bermudez Cynthia Ann Bietz Jacqueline Kae Dill Botimer Linda Sue Botimer Diane Lee Grove Burishkin Grace Burke Cafferky Millie Kit-Nui Chan Charlotte Briggs Chevrier E. Thelma Colburn Cindy Lee Sessler Cruz Pamela Sue Doil June Crystal Evans Vern Buford Fry Dorothy Anita Hall Cora Sue DeKoker Holder Jaroslava Pokorna Kebbas Toni Rene King Noriko Kuniya Jin-Nah Lau

Alice Siu-ying Leng Marcy Holdridge Lillibridge Teri Lee Littler Linda Suzanne Carlson Lundy Barbara Schubert Mann Jonie Ann Mays Janice Ruth McNaughton Karen Lee Menicucci Ruth Uthof Miller Vivien Imperial Montalban Susan Denise Moore Lang Chi Thi Nguyen Cynthia Jean Norman Dorothy Youngsook Oh Cinde Lou Ordelheide Dianne Gail Price Poppert Suzanne Elaine Pyle Rhea Lea Raae-Nielsen Sheila Antoinette Ramoutar

BACHELOR OF SCIENCE 1978

president Janice Marlene Cochran vice president Jill Elizabeth DuNesme secretary-treasurer Adela Esther Robinson social vice president Elia Carolina Bendrell religious vice president Sylvia Yoko Mitsumori

Brenda Irene Anderson Phyllis Ann Angelo Linda Betty Arshat Lauri Louise Baptie Jeanne Marie Belz Ioan Berthelsen Boseant Janet Rae Buelow Melinda Rochelle Burford Sheryl Suzanne Burger Gary Wayne Caldwell Cathy Elaine Canfield Nancy Siu-Yung Chan **Jill Diane Clark** Dorothy Cojohn Myrna Lynne Cojohn Cheryl Renee Corwin Cathy Johnson Downs Kathy Lorraine Dowser Isabelle Terry Drake Rhonda Stephens Durant Rebecca Anne Gainer Arla Jean Genstler Rachel Olivia Gutierrez Sharon Lynn Harrison Danyce Mills Hegstad Tricia Lynne Heidenreich Deborah Lynne Wrenn Hewitt Diane Fitzgerald Howard Nora Noemi Hutchins Shirley Sue Ihde Catherine Oliver Jenson Hyoung Angela Kim Wanda Mae Ladeau Rosemary Gallo Lanham Elizabeth Gail Lawrence Mary Ann Bagnor Lingo Twylla Raye Lofgren Lilia Nieto Loredo Jeannene Rochelle Lorntz Gail Jo Martin Noel Lamont Mathis Heather Belle McReynolds Debra Jean Morikone Georgette Yoshiko Nakata

Jeri Lavaunne Rapp Beverly Ann Reynolds David Lee Reynolds My Ngoc Robinson Deborah Spicer Schultz Cheryl Lyndene Shepherd Robin Jolene Tapanes Tami Jo Tessner Devera Wingo Tomes Solvieg Helene Tonstad Akira Toyama Darolyn Sue Underwood Trang Thi Thu Vo Janice Sue Welch Kimburli Ann Wilson Suzanne Dee Wingo Karen Lynn Littler Wood Cynthia Denise Wright

Corene Patrice Nelson Terri Jo Nelson Vicky Mei Ngo Karen Elizabet Nielsen Karen Elaine Nixon Mary Meganne Nyeholt Marilyn Atiga Orio Ann Overholt Janice Marie Phillips Michelle Lorraine Pillor Jimie Jean Pinkoski Cheryl Lyn Raae-Nielsen Dee Ann Beckett Schnibbe Violet Veran Shaver Sylvia Christine Souza Peggy Jean Spieth Barbara Doris Stannard Sharon Louise Taylor Susan Joy Thornton Susan Eileen Tippit Nancy Lynn Trager Patricia Ann Averill Trapp Bertha Edwards Tutt Nancy Beth Varner Barbara Ann VonNormann Sarah Katherine Weber Gillian Dianne Webster Kathryn Sue Wells Linda Tekaat Wells Joan Alice Wick Tonya Lee Willis Jancie Lee Wilson Judy Lee Wolter John Henry Worth Linda Jean Brassington Young Sherry Lynn Zachary

R

THE ALLAN FINEMAN MEMORIAL AWARD

The Allan Fineman Memorial Award is a perpetual cash award being presented for the fifth time this year by the Fineman family in honor of their father who was a patient in the University Medical Center. The wording on the plaque given to the student is as follows:

He was a man who loved life. His special gifts were warmth, laughter, and the human touch. These qualities are essential ingredients for truly effective medicine and nursing. The recipients of this award are people who bring this "magic" to their work.